Arconic Science Achievement Scholarship

arc logo vert


Arconic is a global leader in lightweight metals engineering and manufacturing, innovating multi-material solutions. The company is based in the Pleasant Valley Community School District and has been a tireless supporter of the Pleasant Valley Educational Foundation.  The Pleasant Valley Science Department offers 16 courses, including AP Physics 1 and 2, as well as AP Chemistry.  Our students take part in hands on experiments that focus on problem solving and discovering what the building blocks of our world can do to advance humankind.  This scholarship honors a student who has excelled in this field of study. The awardee is chosen by the faculty of Science Department. Each awardee will demonstrate the following:

1. Needs to be well prepared by their K-12 experiences and to pursue some form of postsecondary education to expand and refine their skills and background
2. Academic Preparation – the ability to reason, solve problems, apply knowledge, and communicate effectively
3. Interpersonal Skills – the ability to work effectively with others
4. Professional Behaviors – responsibility and dependability
5. Community Mindedness – a commitment to being involved

Criteria to Apply:

  • Science faculty will select the senior applicant who best exemplifies the characteristics of the New Leaders’ Scholarship Program.
  • Plan to attend a college or vocational school upon graduation.

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us why you've chosen your field of study.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us what your plans are after your post-secondary education is complete.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us about one of the following: your ability to problem solve, work with others, and/or your dedication to the community.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us how you've overcome an obstacle.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us anything else about yourself you think the selection committee would like to know.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2022     Carter Dougherty
2021      Alexander Xiao
2020    Aditya Desai
2019     Tristan McMillan
2018     Daniel Romans
2017     Emily Suen
2016     Austin Thompson
2015     Mary Sears
2014     Anna Rodriguez
2013     Louis Redmond
2012     Emma Thompson
2011     Lindsey Jipp
2010     William Horvat
2009     Daniel Morse
2008     James Pastrnak
2007     Emily Batkie
2006     Deidre Gordon
2005     Alex Lambert
2004     Kristen Derhaag
2003     Jill Seeba