Connie Schlabach Memorial Scholarship

Connie Schlabach was a dedicated employee of the Pleasant Valley Community School District for 15 years until she passed away after a courageous battle with cancer on September 7, 2018.

Connie was a loving wife, mother, and grandmother. She was one of 16 children and growing up her family struggled with poverty. She learned hard work at a very young age and school was not easy for her. She spent several years as a foster parent, fostering (and adopting) at-risk teens. She was an extremely hard worker who was always there to help family, friends, and co-workers. She had a special place in her heart for students who had the same challenges she faced as a teen. She became a mom, grandmother, friend and a listening ear to many students while she was at PV. You would always see her walking down the hallways with a group of students following close behind her, vying for her attention. She told them what they needed to hear, not what they wanted to hear, but most of all, she listened to them without judgement.  At her funeral, students expressed their gratitude towards Connie with several indicating they would not have graduated without her attention and guidance.  One student told her family, “She changed my life.”

Connie did not mince words, nor did she lower her expectations, but she did have a great sense of when a kid needed a break. That is the student this scholarship goes to – a student who knows how to work hard, who is good to others, who has a good plan for their future… and who needs a break.

Criteria to Apply:

  • No minimum GPA required
  • Demonstrates a need for financial assistance
  • Plans to pursue a certificate program at a vocational school, trade school or pursue a 2-year degree at a community college
  • Overcame an obstacle that made high school challenging

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Please submit a short essay describing yourself, any challenges you faced while in high school, and why you deserve this scholarship. Consider the criteria to apply when writing your essay.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2021     Alex Hurtado
2020    Braden Brockhage
2019     Abigail Meyers