Riverdale Heights Elementary Achievement Scholarship

Riverdale Heights Elementary is one of our oldest school communities, as it moved from State Street across from ALCOA to a brand new building in 1995. Thousands of students started their pursuit of excellence at Riverdale Heights Elementary. This scholarship is one of 12 scholarships awarded and financed solely by the Pleasant Valley Educational Foundation, which raises funds through several events throughout the year. This scholarship honors a student who attended Riverdale Heights Elementary and is chosen by the Administration/Counseling Office.

Each awardee will demonstrate the following:

1. Needs to be well prepared by their K-12 experiences and to pursue some form of postsecondary education to expand and refine their skills and background
2. Academic Preparation – the ability to reason, solve problems, apply knowledge, and communicate effectively
3. Interpersonal Skills – the ability to work effectively with others
4. Professional Behaviors – responsibility and dependability
5. Community Mindedness – a commitment to being involved

Criteria to Apply:

  • Administration/Counselors will select the senior applicant who attended Riverdale Heights Elementary School and who best exemplifies the characteristics of the New Leaders’ Scholarship Program
  • Plan to attend a college or vocational school upon graduation

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us why you've chosen your field of study.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us what your plans are after your post-secondary education is complete.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us about one of the following: your ability to problem solve, work with others, and/or your dedication to the community.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us how you've overcome an obstacle.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us anything else about yourself you think the selection committee would like to know.


Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2022     Emily Hoskins
2021     Aditi Nachnani
2020    Paul Malachuk 
2019     Kayla Stevens
2018     Kelsey Ruff
2017     Lauren Carroll
2016     Tanner Thompson
2015     Taylor Huber
2014     Maria Brown
2013     Sharmista Chintalapalli
2012     Zachary Miller
2011      Bailey Brockhouse
2010     Ian Smith
2009    Leah Christensen
2008    Kaitlin White
2007    Clay Ottman
2006    Philip Hawbaker
2005    Melinda Mappin 
2004    Drew Wayne
2003     Stephanie Jones