Carl D. Schillig Memorial Scholarship

Carl Schillig, a student at Pleasant Valley High School, was 15 years old when he was hit and killed by a car while participating in the Civil War Reenactment at the Village of East Davenport, September 17, 1994.

Carl was active in numerous school, community, and church activities.  The memorial was established by Carl’s family to perpetuate his memory and enthusiasm for life by providing college scholarships to graduates of Pleasant Valley.  The first scholarship was awarded in 1998.

Established in 1995, the annual Labor Day Run with Carl is the primary funding vehicle for the Carl D. Schillig Memorial Fund.  Supported by many area businesses, volunteers, and media, the run has grown to be an annual community event.

The primary objective of this scholarship is to memorialize the life of Carl D. Schillig by annually providing a scholarship to a Pleasant Valley High School senior who has plans to continue his/her education beyond high school.

Criteria to Apply:

  • Be a graduating senior at PVHS
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.3 after seven semesters of high school
  • Submit a transcript of credits reflecting seven semesters of work
  • Exemplify Carl Schillig’s spirit and interests
  • Plan to attend a two-year or four-year college upon graduation
  • The scholarship is a tuition scholarship and will be paid directly to the institution
  • A personal interview will be required of finalists

*The scholarship will be granted over a four-year period in the amount of $1,000 per year.

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Describe your educational plans and career goals, and how this scholarship will help attain these goals.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2021     Nathan Boleyn
2020    John Meyers 
2019     Ashlee Kwak
2018     Grace D'Antico
2017     Kaitlyn Evans
2016     Harrison Guenzler
2015     Claire Schwarz
2014     Kierstyn Feld
2013     Paul Conway
2012     Allison Witters
2011      Jenna McGee
2010     Emily Misak Jorgensen
2009    Matthew Rubins
2008    Charles Paul
2007    Jordan Lang
2006    Kelsey Bulat
2005    Isaiah Klavviter
2004    Erik Rheinhart
2003    Craig Frericks
2002    Ashly Overturf
2001     Robert Kline
2000    Philip Grothus
1999     Gregory Bauer
1998     Jeff Paul