Chuck Murphy Spartan Spirit Scholarship

Charles “Chuck” Murphy was a long-time parent, fan, and volunteer of the athletic program at Pleasant Valley High School.  His five children, Chris ’71, Russ ’73, Ken ’74, Dale ’77, and Mark ’83, are all graduates of PVHS.

Chuck followed his own children as they participated in tennis, golf, football, basketball, baseball, track, and cross country for over 17 years.  He rarely, if ever, missed a game or event that his children were participating in.  Following their graduation from high school, Chuck continued to volunteer as PV’s camera man, filming football and basketball games.  He also served as a timer at track meets.

This scholarship honors a student who has most exhibited the qualities of hard work, dedication, and sportsmanship.  The awardee is chosen by the administration/counselors.  Each awardee will demonstrate the following:

  • Needs to be well prepared by their K-12 experiences and to pursue some form of post-secondary education to expand and refine their skills and   background
  • Academic Preparation – the ability to reason, solve problems, apply knowledge, and communicate effectively
  • Interpersonal Skills – the ability to work effectively with others – individually or in groups
  • Professional Behaviors – responsibility and dependability
  • Community Mindedness – a commitment to being involved

Criteria to Apply:

  • Administration/counselors will select the senior applicant who exhibits the qualities of hard work, dedication, and sportsmanship
  • Plan to attend a college or vocational school upon graduation

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Discuss briefly in 50 words or less what you see yourself doing in 10 years.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2021     Kaitlyn Crist
2020    Nate Martell
2019     Allison Zucker
2018     Gretchen Strobbe
2017     Rachel Tebbe
2016     Brennen Reynolds
2015     Louis William
2014     Nicholas Reed
2013     Samuel Martin
2012     Katelynn Bradley
2011      Sarah Cronk
2010     Jacob Ward
2009    Carolyn Johnson
2008    Alex Phan
2007    Jordan Lang
2006    Jacob Jipp
2005    Alex Hahn
2004    Hannah Bland
2003    Kristin Beck