David J. Ramnath Memorial Scholarship

David Ramnath was born in Bangalore, India. He studied at Clarence High School and then completed a Bachelor of Science degree at St. Joseph’s College, Bangalore. David represented both the college and university in field hockey and was the university pole vault champion his senior year. David worked for the Reserve Bank of India and then on July 4, 1981, settled in Clinton, Iowa, where he and his wife, Monis, raised their children, Deepak and Rohini. For over twenty years, David worked for Clinton National Bank in an array of capacities including teller, branch manager, and bank officer, prior to his retirement.

David was a master at getting to know people quickly and then developing acquaintances into deep friendships. His capability to inject humor, his love of singing, and aptitude to befriend all who were fortunate enough to have passed through his life are the ways in which David is most lovingly remembered. David found great satisfaction serving with and doing for others. Some highlights of David’s civic endeavors included Kiwanis, Eastern Iowa Community College’s B-rrry Scurry 4-mile race, and YMCA soccer.

David was an avid tennis player and shared his knowledge and teaching skills with players of all ages and abilities. He played competitively as an adult and recreationally with friends, family and, young people. David coached at Pleasant Valley High School for four years. He had a supreme rapport with the boys’ and girls’ teams. David was known throughout the Mississippi Athletic Conference for his positive approach to coaching and his desire to see every player succeed both on and off the court. He shared his enormous, encouraging smile with players and spectators, opponents and teammates.

David passed away on August 6, 2011. As a way to honor David’s purpose-filled life, family and friends from around the world came together to fund the David J. Ramnath Memorial Scholarship.

Criteria to Apply:

  • Be a graduating senior at PVHS
  • Acceptance or plan to attend a four-year college or university
  • Have a minimum cumulative 3.5 GPA after seven semesters of high school
  • Have participated in at least one sport each year while attending PVHS
  • Form detailing your extra-curricular involvement
  • An essay describing your positive impact on the community

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Write an essay describing your positive impact on the community.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients:

2021      Shevta Kalathur
2020     Sanjiv Iyer
2019     Adrea Arthofer
2018     Jenna Ruccolo 
2017     Emily Nutt
2016     Sydney Hester
2015     Katherine Melbourne
2014     Abishek Gowda
2013     Sarah Huber
2012     Hannah Thomsen