Family & Consumer Sciences Achievement Scholarship

Students enrolled in our awarding-winning Family & Consumer Sciences classes at PVHS will be exposed to hands-on technical skills that may lead to employment in the areas of child development, fashion and apparel industry, interior design, and the food service industry. It emphasizes practical skills needed by every citizen. In addition, these classes provide for the development of communication techniques and human relation skills necessary to enhance personal and professional development.

This scholarship is one of 12 scholarships awarded and financed solely by the Pleasant Valley Educational Foundation, which raises funds through several events throughout the year. This scholarship honors a student who has excelled in this field of study. The awardee is chosen by the faculty in the FCS Department. Each awardee will demonstrate the following:

1. Needs to be well prepared by their K-12 experiences and to pursue some form of postsecondary education to expand and refine their skills and background.
2. Academic Preparation – the ability to reason, solve problems, apply knowledge, and communicate effectively.
3. Interpersonal Skills – the ability to work effectively with others
4. Professional Behaviors – responsibility and dependability.
5. Community Mindedness – a commitment to being involved.

Criteria to Apply:

  • Family & Consumer Sciences faculty will select the senior applicant who best exemplifies the characteristics of the New Leaders’ Scholarship Program
  • Plans to attend a college or vocational school upon graduation.

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Discuss briefly in 50 words or less what you see yourself doing in 10 years.


Past Scholarship Recipients:

2017     Emma Hartman
2016     Isabel Noble
2015     Kate Peer
2014     Elizabeth Deasy
2013     Theodor Joers
2012     Liza Dollenbacher
2011     Joselyn Howland
2010     Karly Evans
2009     Tracie Hildebrandt
2008     Cortney Sievert
2007 Lea Behncke
2006     Emily Paper
2005     Megan Cavanaugh
2004     Jessica Weiler
2003     Kathryn Hale