PTA Character Counts Scholarship

This scholarship honors the Character Counts pillars, which are instilled in our students from day one.

 Trustworthiness:  Be honest • Don’t deceive, cheat, or steal • Be reliable — do what you say you’ll do • Have the courage to do the right thing • Build a good reputation • Be loyal — stand by your family, friends, and country

Respect:  Treat others with respect; follow the Golden Rule • Be tolerant and accepting of differences • Use good manners, not bad language • Be considerate of the feelings of others • Don’t threaten, hit or hurt anyone • Deal peacefully with anger, insults, and disagreements

Responsibility:  Do what you are supposed to do • Plan ahead • Persevere: keep on trying! • Always do your best • Use self-control • Be self-disciplined • Think before you act — consider the consequences • Be accountable for your words, actions, and attitudes • Set a good example for others

Fairness:  Play by the rules • Take turns and share • Be open-minded; listen to others • Don’t take advantage of others • Don’t blame others carelessly • Treat all people fairly

Caring:  Be kind • Be compassionate and show you care • Express gratitude • Forgive others • Help people in need

Citizenship:  Do your share to make your school and community better • Cooperate • Get involved in community affairs • Stay informed; vote • Be a good neighbor • Obey laws and rules • Respect authority • Protect the environment • Volunteer

The JH and HS principals and JH/HS PTA presidents or their designee(s) select the awardee. This scholarship is one of 12 scholarships awarded and financed solely by the Pleasant Valley Educational Foundation, which raises funds through several events throughout the year.

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Describe Post-Secondary Plans. Discuss briefly in 50 words or less what you see yourself doing in 10 years.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2021     Julia Houghton
2020    Megan McGovern
2019     Spencer Clark
2018     Lauren Kulas
2017     Marie DeLessio
2016     Amanda Welweart
2015     Mason McGee
2014     Grace Kim
2013     Haley Smith
2012     Karly Dankert
2011      Laura Thomsen
2010     Jenna Lensmeyer
2009    Kendall Stelk
2008    Jared Dammann
2007    Angela Rouse
2006    Maria Claussen
2005    Erik Skjerseth
2004    Jessica Pryor