Contact Us

Administration Center

525 Belmont Road
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Office: (563) 332-5550
Fax: (563) 332-4372

The Maintenance Center

Office: (563) 332-6895

School Resource Officers
High School:
Deputy Jamey Fah
Phone: (563) 332-5151 ext. 5124

Junior High:
Deputy Peter Bawden
Phone: (563) 332-0200 ext. 2605
District Schools
Bridgeview Elementary:

Main Office: (563) 332-0215
Attendance: (563) 332-0216
Cody Elementary:

Main Office: (563) 332-0210
Attendance: (563) 332-0211
Forest Grove Elementary:

Main Office: (563) 332-0208
Fax: (563) 332-0207
Hopewell Elementary:

Main Office: (563) 332-0250
Attendance: (563) 332-0251
Pleasant View Elementary:

Main Office: (563) 332-5575
Attendance: (563) 332-5576
Pleasant Valley High School:

Main Office: (563) 332-5151
Attendance: (563) 332-6132
Pleasant Valley Junior High:

Main Office: (563) 332-0200
Attendance: (563) 332-0201
Riverdale Heights:

Main Office: (563) 332-0525
Attendance: (563) 332-0616

R. Hovey Tinsman, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

In accordance with the passing of R. Hovey Tinsman, Jr. in the spring of 2011 and the family’s commitment to education, the Tinsman family has established a second scholarship in memory of Hovey.

“We believe everyone should have access to a post-secondary education,” said Maggie Tinsman. “Students need the opportunity to receive a two-year or four-year college degree.”

For Hovey and Maggie Tinsman, education has always been a central part of their lives. Placing importance on their own education, and that of their children, has been crucial to the achievements of all their family members.

After graduating from Princeton University in 1953, Hovey received a commission into the United States Navy Officers Candidate School (OCS) for three years. He then received his M.B.A. from Northwestern University and established Twin State with his brother, a company that has manufactured liquid fertilizer for more than 49 years. Among his numerous volunteer activities, Hovey was a 10-year member of the Pleasant Valley School Board and a member of St. Luke’s Hospital and the Quad City Symphony Orchestra boards of directors. He was also one of the community leaders who were instrumental in bringing to fruition the idea of a Family Museum of Art and Science, where children could play and learn.

After graduating from the University of Colorado at Boulder, Maggie married Hovey in 1959. While being a stay-at-home mother, she volunteered for the Junior Board of Visiting Nurses and the Junior Board of the Symphony. As their children grew, Maggie furthered her education with a master’s degree in Social Work from the University of Iowa. Her interest in helping others with education led her to establish the first tutoring program at Riverdale Elementary School. She is also well known for serving 11 years on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and for her 18-year tenure as an Iowa State Senator where, among her many achievements, she championed educational opportunities for all Iowans.

The Tinsmans understand that their personal and professional successes are due to the continuing education they have pursued throughout their lives. Their educational experiences also brought them a deeper understanding of the needs of others in their community. Lifetime residents of the Quad Cities, the Tinsmans are deeply involved in community life and in service to others.

Criteria to Apply:

  • Be a graduating senior of PVHS
  • Plans to attend a four-year institution
  • Student must be a member of the National Honor Society
  • Have received 1st honors or above for 6 semesters
  • Must have challenged one’s self with core courses the entire senior year
  • Be an active participant in a significant number of performing arts, sports or other school activities along with being a community volunteer

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us why you've chosen your field of study.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us what your plans are after your post-secondary education is complete.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us about one of the following: your ability to problem solve, work with others, and/or your dedication to the community.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us how you've overcome an obstacle.
  • In less than 250 words (1700 characters), please tell us anything else about yourself you think the selection committee would like to know.


Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2023    Khushi Mehta
2022    Rithvik Vanga
2021     Amber Matthews
2020    Amulya Pillutla
2019     Jeanelle Cho
2018     Lauren Kulas
2017     Christian Jones
2016     Marah Tews
2015     Emily Fuller
2014     Caitlin Staver
2013     Emily Schwake
2012     Lauren Zust
2011      Kylie Smith
Explore Section

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.