Social Studies Department Achievement Scholarship

Students enrolled in Social Studies classes at PVHS will be exposed to a variety of learning methods, including whole group instruction, student-centered learning activities, 21st century technology, and primary source materials in the areas of history, government, economics, psychology and sociology. These classes aim to develop knowledgeable, thinking and active citizens through examination of the past, awareness of changing cultural and physical environments, and the development of critical thinking skills. This scholarship is one of 12 scholarships awarded and financed solely by the Pleasant Valley Educational Foundation, which raises funds through several events throughout the year, as well as supports the entire scholarship program at PVHS. This scholarship honors a student who has excelled in this field of study. The awardee is chosen by the faculty of the Social Studies Department.

Each awardee will demonstrate the following:

1. Needs to be well prepared by their K-12 experiences and to pursue some form of postsecondary education to expand and refine their skills and background

2. Academic Preparation – the ability to reason, solve problems, apply knowledge, and communicate effectively

3. Interpersonal Skills – the ability to work effectively with others

4. Professional Behaviors – responsibility and dependability

5. Community Mindedness – a commitment to being involved

Criteria to Apply:

  • Social Studies faculty will select the senior applicant who best exemplifies the characteristics of the New Leaders’ Scholarship Program
  • Plans to attend a college or vocational school upon graduation.

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:

  • Describe Post-Secondary Plans. Discuss briefly in 50 words or less what you see yourself doing in 10 years.

Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients

2021     Ingrid Hofmann
2020    Rece Vining
2019     Guilherme Pinho
2018     Abigail Melbourne
2017     Samuel Lundry
2016     Connor Johnson
2015     Grace Gode
2014     Anthony Yang
2013     Alexis Toporowski
2012     Katie Noble
2011      Christina Hesse
2010     Joseph Kluever
2009    Samantha Meyer
2008    Anna Tunnicliff
2007    Rebekah Titsworth
2006    Kiley Seligman
2005    Kathy Rodine
2004    Rachel Elsey
2003    Emily Daugherty