Tinsman Family Education Scholarship

After graduating from Princeton University in 1953, Hovey received a commission into the United States Navy Officers Candidate School (OCS) for three years.  He then received his M.B.A. from Northwestern University and established Twin State with his brother, a company that has manufactured liquid fertilizer for more than 49 years. Among his numerous volunteer activities, Hovey was a 10-year member of the Pleasant Valley School Board and a member of St. Luke’s Hospital and the Quad City Symphony Orchestra boards of directors. He was also one of the community leaders who were instrumental in bringing to fruition the idea of a Family Museum of Art and Science, where children could play and learn.

After graduating from the University of Colorado at Boulder, Maggie married Hovey in 1959. While being a stay-at-home mother, she volunteered for the Junior Board of Visiting Nurses and the Junior Board of the Symphony. As their children grew, Maggie furthered her education with a master’s degree in Social Work from the University of Iowa. Her interest in helping others with education led her to establish the first tutoring program at Riverdale Elementary School. She is also well known for serving 11 years on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and for her 18-year tenure as an Iowa State Senator where, among her many achievements, she championed educational opportunities for all Iowans.
Maggie and Hovey are carrying on their commitment to the community and their belief in the value of learning by making education opportunities available for others through their philanthropy. In 2007, they created a scholarship endowment that will help provide access to education to deserving students for generations to come.  They chose to call their fund “The Tinsman Family Scholarship.” They involved their children, Hovey, III, Bruce and Heidi in the giving process and hope that one day they will follow in their parents’ footsteps and grow the Family Scholarship Fund with their own contributions.

Criteria to Apply:

  • Be a graduating senior of PVHS
  • Plans to attend a four-year institution
  • Student must be a member of the National Honor Society
  • Have received 1st honors or above for 6 semesters
  • Must have challenged one’s self with core courses the entire senior year
  • Be an active participant in a significant number of performing arts, sports or other school activities along with being a community volunteer

Scholarship Personal Statement/Essay:


Click here to Apply for a Scholarship


Past Scholarship Recipients:

2021     Cyrus Barati
2020    Hannah Lederman
2019     Nathan Wong
2018     Nandini Jayaram
2017     Olivia Heckel
2016     Margaret Burke
2015     James Anil
2014     Abigail Elceser
2013     Caitlin Raymon
2012     Julia Haas
2011      Alyson Wennlund
2010     Mark Sy
2009     Chelsea Manor
2008     Emily Rheinhart